Tinubu sends list of 5 nominees as CBN directors to Senate

Spread the love

Abuja, Feb. 13, 2024 – President Bola Tinubu has sent a list of five nominees as directors in the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) to the Senate for consideration.

Tinubu’s request was contained in a letter addressed to the President of the Senate, Godswill Akpiabio, and read at plenary on Tuesday.

The letter reads in part: “In compliance with the provisions of Section 6, Subsection 1b and Section 10 Subsection 1 and 2 of the Central Bank of Nigeria Establishment Act, 2007, I am pleased to present for confirmation by the Senate, the appointment of the under-listed five persons as Directors of the Board of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

“Robert Agbide, Ado Wanga, Muritala Sagaley, Urom Eke and Olayinka Aliyu.

“While hoping that the request will receive the expeditious consideration of the Senate, please accept the distinguished Senate President, the assurance of my highest regards.”

Akpabio referred the request to the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance, and Other Financial Institutions for further legislative action and to report back to plenary in four weeks.

Tinubu, in a separate letter, also sought the confirmation of the Senate for the appointment of Mr Hamidu Rahim as Commissioner for the National Population Commission (NPC) representing Osun State.

Tinubu said the request followed provisions of Section 154, Sub section 1 of the 1999 Constitution (As Amended).

Godswill Akpabio also referred the request to the Senate Committee on National Population and National Identity for further legislative work and to report back to plenary in one week. (GBN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *