Withdrawal of Membership: ECOWAS Commission yet to receive formal notification

Spread the love

Abuja, Jan. 28, 2024 – The Commission of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS Commission) says it has not received any formal notification from the three member states that have announced their membership from the regional organisation.

Mali, Niger Republic and Burkina Faso on Sunday announced their immediate withdrawal of their membership from ECOWAS in protest against their suspension from the regional bloc following military coups in their countries.

The leaders of the three West African countries issued a statement on Sunday, saying it was their “sovereign decision” to leave the ECOWAS without delay.

The ECOWAS Commission, however, said it had not received any formal notice to that effect.

“The attention of the Commission of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS Commission) has been drawn to a statement broadcast on the National Televisions of Mali and Niger announcing the decision of Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger to withdraw from ECOWAS.

“The ECOWAS Commission is yet to receive any direct formal notification from the three Member States about their intention to withdraw from the Community.

“The ECOWAS Commission, as directed by the Authority of Heads of State and Government, has been working assiduously with these countries for the restoration of constitutional order. Burkina Faso, Niger, and Mali remain important members of the Community and the Authority remains committed to finding a negotiated solution to the political impasse.

“The ECOWAS Commission remains seized with the development and shall make further pronouncements as the situation evolves.” (GBN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *