Tinubu sends nominations for NEDC members to Senate

Spread the love

Abuja, July 19, 2023 – President, Bola Tinubu on Wednesday urged the senate to confirm his nomination of members of the North East Development Commission (NEDC) for reappointment.

The President’s letter was read at the plenary by Senate President, GodsWill Akpabio.

In the letter, the President said the request was in line with provision of Section 5(1) of the NEDC Act 2023.

“I write to present for confirmation by the Distinguished members of the Senate, the appointment of the Chairman and members of Executive Management of the board of the North-East Development Commission.

“May I hope that the request will receive the usual expeditious consideration of the Senate,” he said.

The nominees are General Paul Tarfa as Chairman (Adamawa (North East), Hon Gambo Maikyau from North East-Taraba State, Abdullahi Abbas member, from North West-Kano ; Zaf Steven Ondova, member ( North Central – Benue state); Chief Mutiu Lawal Areh, member (South West – Lagos state).

Others are Samuel Ifeanyi Onuigbo, Member (South East – Abia State); Frank Achinike Owo Member (South South – Rivers state) and Mohamed Goni Alkali as Managing Director (North East – Borno State).

The rest for re-appointment are Musa Yashi Executive Director of Humanitarian Affairs (North East – Bauchi ); Ahmed Abdulsalam Yahaya Executive Director of Operations, (North East – Gombe) and Dr Abubakar Garba Ileah, Executive Director of Admin and Finance, (North East – Yobe State).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *