Senate sends 35 Constitution Alteration Bills for presidential assent

Spread the love

Abuja, Jan. 24, 2023 – The Senate on Tuesday directed Sani Magaji Tambuwal, the Clerk of the National Assembly, to transmit 35 Constitution Alteration Bills to the president his for assent.

The Chairman, Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, Michael Bamidele, presented the motion on behalf of Senator Omo-Agege who was absent during plenary.

Bamidele said the 35 Constitution Alteration Bills satisfied the provisions of Section 9(2) of the Constitution for passage into law having been approved by not less than 24 State Houses of Assembly.

He said 27 State Houses of Assembly had passed and forwarded their resolutions on the bills to the National Assembly.

The Senate urged the seven states that were yet to forward their resolutions on the constitution alteration Bills to do so. (GBN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *