Oyo NAFOHEADS elects, inaugurates new exco

Spread the love

Ibadan, May 26, 2023 (NAN) The National Forum of Heads of Federal Establishments (NAFOHEADS) in Oyo State on Thursday inaugurated its new executive members that would pilot the affairs of the association for the next two years.

NAFOHEADS is an umbrella body of over 150 federal ministries, departments and agencies of government in Oyo State.

Mr Olagoke Olatoye, the Zonal Manager, Ibadan Zone of the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), who was the Chairman of Electoral Committee, conducted the election at the Conference Hall of the Federal Secretariat Complex, Ikolaba, Ibadan. 

Olatoye said that the election was conducted in strict compliance with the Forum’s constitution to fill 11 of the 13 vacant positions, while other positions, not contested for, would be filled through a by-election. 

He said that all the contestants were qualified, having met the mandatory constitutional requirements.

Olatoye lauded the immediate past executive for the confidence reposed in him and his committee, assuring that every bit of the electoral process was in tandem with the constitution of the Forum.

He explained that the election was supposed to have taken place in April, but was shifted due to some unforeseen circumstances.

He pledged that his committee would maintain high level of transparency, fairness and credibility in the conduct of the election.

At the end of the exercise, Mrs Funmilayo Magaji of the NIPOST emerged as the Chairman; Mrs Olayemi Olayinka of the National Directorate of Employment (NDE), emerged as the Vice Chairman I; M.T Umar, the Comptroller of Immigrations in Oyo State won the Vice Chairman II position.

Also, Mrs Kehinde Adeyemi of the National Productivity Centre, was elected as the General Secretary, while Mrs Ojuolape Adebanjo of the Public Complaints Commission emerged as the Assistant Secretary.

Other officers elected were Dr Beatrice Babayemi of the Federal Ministry of Education (Financial Secretary); Dr Stephen Adewuni of NABTEB (Auditor); Mr Emmanuel Osuji of NIPOST (Publicity Secretary); Mrs Nnenna Bishop of the NSITF (Social/Welfare Secretary, while Dr Ibrahim Adedayo of NOUN was elected as the Chief Whip.

In her acceptance speech, Magaji promised to come up with novel strategies/ideas capable of luring members, particularly substantive heads to the forum.

She, however, solicited the supports of members to bringing the forum to its rightful and enviable position.

The chairman promised that her administration would build on the legacy of the previous administration for harmonious relationship among the agencies. 

She, also promised that her executive members would soon embark on sensitisation programme to the state governor, traditional rulers and other critical stakeholders across the state.

Commenting, the immediate past Chairman of the forum, Mrs Omolara Esan of the Federal Ministry of Information, commended all members of the association for their supports during her tenure, urging them to give same supports to the new executive members.

Esan urged the Magaji-led administration to jettison every form of “unilateralism”, stressing the need for “power of collectivism”. 

She immensely lauded the invaluable inputs of all members of the electoral committee, which she said, culminated in the successful change of guard and subsequent inauguration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *